Over the hump day!

I’m midway through my first week of classes!  I’m really liking them so far.  The homework and readings are interesting, and I can get them done and with plenty of time left to explore.  Yesterday, for example, I found an amazing fresh fish market.  I pass it everyday on my way to the bus home, so I’m sure I’ll be picking up lots of fresh Danish cod and Norwegian salmon.  Also, last night my friends and I finally had our first “shawarma,” basically a gyro.  There are apparently tons of places to get them in the neighborhood where I live, and everyone has their own opinion of which place is best.  We went to a sit-down place that was a bit nicer than some of the other grab-and-go places (a favorite late night bite among those living in my kollegium).

Image

One thing I love about DIS is that we don’t have class on Wednesdays.  Today, some friends and I decided to make the most of our day off by going to a nearby museum, Statens Museum for Kunst.  We spent hours wandering through the many rooms, filled with art both old and new.  My favorite was definitely the older paintings from the 19th century and earlier.

Image

 

The painting in the top left was probably my favorite of all.  It depicts a group of friends making music and singing by candlelight.  For some reason, it reminded me of Drennen Family sing-a-longs when at Deep Creek.  The way the artists were able to use lighting and colors to make the paintings come to life was really amazing.

They came in all shapes and sizes, from many different places, and depicted many different scenes and themes.  I must say, some of the paintings in the modern art galleries were a bit disturbing, but these ones below were some of my favorites.  To say that I was awed is an understatement!

Image

After hours in the museum, we were pretty hungry so we headed to a nearby cafe selling the bagel sandwiches that seem to be everywhere around here.  There is another shop near my classes and I think it’s safe to say I’ll be back for more before the semester ends!

My evening consisted of an orientation for my core course week coming up next week, followed by dinner with my Danish Language & Cultures class at a pub, Caféaften, in Nørrebro.  Dinner included pork and potatoes.. although it was really unlike any pork I’ve ever had; it kind of reminded me of overdone bacon? Oh well, when in Denmark I suppose…

Image

After a brisk walk to my bus stop, I arrived back to my room.  My “quick post” has turned into a forty-five minute endeavor, so I think I may have to cut it short and get to bed.  All the fresh air and my constant sense of excitement (and mild anxiety about getting lost with my non-existent sense of direction) has me thoroughly exhausted!

I miss everyone at home, but am loving it here – not a day goes by that I don’t encounter a friendly Dane who goes out of their way to help me when I’m lost.  I don’t think that sense of cheery contentment will ever get old.  Not to be too corny, but it definitely lights up these dark and chilly days!

2 thoughts on “Over the hump day!

  1. Love shawarma (sp) not like a gyro here – more like a kabob. So glad that you are having fun! Be safe – love you!

  2. Love all the photos and descriptions of the places you are visiting! I’m ready to move….even if it isn’t sunny. Friendly people and faces have such appeal! Love you!

Leave a comment